Difference between revisions of "CLI"

Jump to: navigation, search
m (+ link on exec page)
m (+ live migration and diskless live migration links)
Line 62: Line 62:
Also check the [[Remote syscall execution]] article for 'exec' command info.
Also check the [[Remote syscall execution]] article for 'exec' command info.
[[Live migration]] and [[Disk-less migration]]

Revision as of 15:19, 14 March 2013

Since the tools and overall concept are still under heavy development, there are some known limitations applied, in particular only pure x86-64 environment is supported, no IA32 emulation allowed.


'crtools' [-c] [-s] [-f <file>] [-d] [-n] [-o <path>] [-D <path>] [-v [num]] [--help] <command> (-p|-t) <pid>


'crtools' is command line utility to steer checkpoint and restore procedure.


    One of the follwong commands
        * 'dump'
                to initiate checkpoint procedure
        * 'restore'
                to restore previously checkpointed processes
        * 'show'
                to decode binary dump files and show their contents in human
                readable format
        * 'check'
                to test whether the kernel support is up-to-date
        * 'exec'
                to execute a system call from another task's context

    In case of 'show' command the dumped pages content will be shown in hex format.

-D <path>::
    Use path 'path' as a base directory where to look for dump files set. This
    commands allpies to any <command>.

    Leave tasks in stopped state after checkpoint instead of killing them.

-f <file>::
    This option is valid for 'show' command only and allows to see content of
    the <file> specified.

-t <pid>::
    Checkpoint the whole process tree starting from 'pid'.

    Detach 'crtools' itself once restore is complete.

-n <ns>::
    Checkpoint namespaces. Namespaces must be separated by comma.
    We now support all namespaces -- uts, ipc, net and mnt

-o <file>::
    Write logging messages to 'file'.

-v <num>::
    Set logging level to 'num'. Valid options are: 0 - (silent, error messages
    only), 1 - informative (default), 2 - debug messages.

Further reading

Refer to Advanced usage article for more options.

Also check the Remote syscall execution article for 'exec' command info.

Live migration and Disk-less migration